Skip to main content


Morgan County Animal Services

Morgan County Animal Control and the Morgan County Animal Shelter work to ensure the safety of residents as it relates to animals and for the welfare of animals within our community.

Morgan County Animal Control

Morgan County Animal Control works in accordance with Alabama State Law and responds to complaints concerning injured animals; dogs and livestock running at large; cruelty, abuse, and neglect welfare checks; and stray pickups of dogs only. MCAC works in accordance with state law in that cats and fowl do not require confinement in Alabama.

Morgan County Animal Shelter

The animal shelter is a public facility, which provides shelter to stray, abandoned, abused, or owner-surrendered dogs and cats. We also have many pets for adoption into new homes.

The Morgan County Animal Shelter is open to the public Monday through Friday from 10 a.m. to 4 p.m. The shelter is closed Saturday and Sunday.

Adoption fees:

Dogs: $110 includes spay/neuter and the first round of vaccines
Cats: $80 includes spay/neuter and the first round of vaccines


How long are animals held before they can be adopted?
Stray animals are held for seven days in accordance with state law to give an owner time to find and claim the animal. After this, the animal may be placed for adoption.

How much does it cost to drop off an animal at the shelter?
Morgan County does not charge a fee to drop off a stray or if the owner surrenders an animal.

Can I bring my animal to the Animal Shelter to be euthanized?
Morgan County Animal Control and Shelter do not perform euthanization of animals for the public.

Visit Us on Facebook

Contact Morgan County Animal Control & Animal Shelter

1314 Industrial Drive SE
Hartselle, AL 35640


Phone: 256-773-2934
Fax: 256-773-2317